Diagnostic Imaging is the use of medical imaging technology to produce pictures of the body, therefore we can see through body tissue and investigate its function.  Diagnostic Imaging can also be used for tissue localization for the purpose of sampling or removal of unwanted tissue.  Therapeutic treatment is also possible through the use of imaging technique.

To maintain the highest possible quality, Adventist Medical Center – Taikoo Place offers professional services by a team of highly trained, skilful and qualified technologists for the different areas of our highly specialized Diagnostic Imaging Services.

 

Different imaging technology has its own characteristics and can be applied for different situations in order to achieve the best result.  To allow you to better understand of what needed to be done during the examination, we have prepared you the information below to explain the examination / procedures further.  

Although the radiation dose used in our various modalities / examinations are relatively low, we must still watch out the potential harmful effect of radiation to our body, particularly for pregnant patients and children.  Therefore, please inform our staff in advance if you are potentially pregnant or have concerns to X-Ray.  To further reduce the harm of X-Ray examinations, we will apply radiation protection such as reduce the area of X-ray, use only the minimum dose needed, and use shielding materials if possible.   

In addition, to ensure safety of examination / procedure, please tell us details of your medical history particularly if you are suffering from major clinical conditions such as renal impairment, cardiac failure, liver failure, great pain, if you are unable to stand or you lost the control of motion, or if you are taking any special medication.  Please check with our staff directly or contact  our center for any inquiry.  

For your safety, all scan rooms and changing rooms are equipped with nurse call bells, please press if you feel unwell or have any questions.  We will keep monitoring you throughout the procedure and respond to your call immediately.

The Diagnostic Imaging Department of Adventist Medical Center – Taikoo Place provides a range of imaging services including but not limited to:

1. RADIOLOGY :

Radiology, otherwise known as X-ray, is the use of high penetration radiation to produce 2D picture of our 3D body tissue on film for diagnostic purpose.  Radiology is the most common and relatively inexpensive imaging modality used in Diagnostic Imaging.  Radiology is good for tissue of high inherent contrast such as bone and lung. 

Although X-ray produces the highest resolution, its soft tissue contrast is relatively low.  To improve the soft tissue contrast in Radiology, X-ray contrast (dye) may be used in some situations.

the Diagnostic Imaging Department has a sophisticated digital X-ray room,  offers a full range of General X-Ray, and Mammogram diagnostic examinations.

General X-ray Examinations

General X-ray means plain X-ray, without the use of special X-ray contrast medium and requires no special procedure or preparation.  Patient just needs to follow the instructions of our technologist (Radiographer) for the required positioning of your body part.  There will be no special after-care for general X-ray.

 

Mammogram

Mammogram is the use of special X-ray technique to produce high contrast picture of the breast tissues.

 

Our high resolution full-field digital mammography machine is operated by our qualified and experienced female radiographer for both 2D conventional Mammogram and 3D Mammogram services.  For 2D Mammogram, under breast compression, normally 2 angles (pictures) will be taken for each breast, occasionally additional magnifying / focus views will be taken, if needed.  With less breast compression and one single shoot, our 3D Mammogram virtually slices the breast in pieces, allowing better visualization of the breast tissues.  Our advanced machine also allows reconstruction of 3D images to 2D images, reducing the need to redo the 2D Mammogram for comparison with the previous 2D examinations.  

 

2. ULTRASOUND

Ultrasound is the use of non-invasive high frequency sound waves to produce images of the body.  In imaging field, Ultrasound is a relatively inexpensive technology that is able to provide “real-time” information of the body tissue in slice form.  Because of its convenience, “real-time” and non-invasive characteristics, Ultrasound is commonly applied to small area imaging and dynamic imaging of the body.  The ultrasound probe will be placed in the area of interest with “gel” to facilitate transmission of sound wave to your body without any pain or sensation.  Patient will be requested to control breathing during the scan so as to get better result.  No post-ultrasound after-care is needed.  For the scanning of the upper abdomen, you are required to fast (no food or drink) for 6 hours.

Our world-class Ultrasound machines produce ultrasound images of the highest quality without the need of contrast medium.  A full range of examinations are performed in our department, including:

 

  • Abdominal and Pelvic scanning. 
  • Small parts imaging such as breast and thyroid.
  • Carotid and Extremity colour doppler for blood vessel imaging.
  • Musculoskeletal and Articulating Joint imaging of their soft tissue area.

 

3. DEXA (Dual-Energy X-ray Absorptiometry)

With the use of 2 different penetration power of X-ray, DEXA is used to measure the density of our bones (calcium and other minerals).  With the X-ray dose of lesser than a chest X-ray which is relatively safe and accurate, DEXA is commonly used to measure bone density of Spine, Hip, and Wrist, the most frequently fracture locations.

放射診斷服務


簡單而言,放射診斷是指使用醫學影像技術來拍攝體內各個器官或組織,從而分析其功能狀況。放射診斷學也可以應用於定位組織,以準確進行組織抽樣化驗或去除不需要的組織。此外,放射診斷亦常用於治療方面。

 

為保證服務質素,港安醫療中心─太古坊放射診斷部的放射診斷技師均已註冊及受過嚴格訓練,務求為病人提供準確的檢驗。

 

基於各種影像檢查技術具有其自身的特點,本中心的醫生會因應不同病理,向病人建議接受相對應的醫學影像檢查技術,以達至最佳診斷效果。為了讓您更好地了解各種影像檢查,請詳細閱讀以下內容和檢前準備。


檢前注意事項


儘管影像檢查技術使用的輻射劑量相對較低,但安全性乃是我們最重視的一環。基於任何在檢查中所産生的輻射或會對孕婦和兒童帶來潛在危險,因此如果您可能懷孕或對輻射線有疑慮,請提前向本中心的醫療團隊查詢。為了進一步減少輻射對身體造成的影響,本院註冊放射技師會因應病人狀況,準確計算照射範圍及最低使用劑量,同時在有需要及情況許可下提供合適的防護設備。


此外,一些主要長期病患、行動不便或正在服用的特殊藥物,或會影響放射診斷的檢查效果及存在安全風險,因此,請聯絡我們的醫療團隊,詳細告訴我們您的病歷,讓我們可為您提供最安全及優質的診斷及檢查服務。


為了您的安全,所有掃描室和更衣室均配有護士呼叫鈴;如果您感到不適或有任何疑問,請按鈴尋求協助。我們將會監察整個檢查過程,以便即時回應您的需要。


港安醫療中心
太古坊診斷影像部門提供全方位的影像檢查服務,包括但不限於:

1. X光造影檢查


放射學(也稱為
X光)是使用具高穿透力的輻射線,將人體內的骨骼、器官或其他身體組織的3D形態,投射到平面的菲林片上,造成的影像可用於診斷目的。X光造影是最常用及相對經濟的影像診斷方法,適用於高密度和對比度高的身體組織,例如骨骼和肺等。 

儘管X射線可產生高解像度影像,但應用於檢查軟組織上卻相對較低。在某些情況下,會考慮使用X光顯影劑,以提升軟組織在接受X光檢查時的影像清晰度。

診斷影像部門設有一個完善的數碼X光檢查室,可提供全面的常規X光造影檢查,以及乳房X光造影檢查。

 

一般X光造影檢查 


一般
X光造影是指普通平片X光,毋須使用特殊的造影劑,並且不需要特殊的程序或準備。接受檢查者只需按照註冊放射技師的指示,將受檢查的身體部位固定於檢查儀器上即可,接受檢查後毋須進行任何特別護理。

 

乳房X光造影


使用特殊的
X光造影技術,將乳腺組織製成高解析度影像。高解析度全方位數碼乳房X光造影儀器,將由本中心具豐富經驗的註冊女放射技師操作,可提供傳統2D乳房或3D乳房X光造影服務。接受2D乳房X光造影檢查期間,左、右兩邊乳房也需要在受擠壓的情況下,各拍攝兩幀乳房平片。視乎情況,放射技師或會要求額外放大/聚焦特定部位再作檢查。本中心亦提供最先進的3D乳房X光造影服務,只需接受一次X光照射,便可將乳房組織重建成斷層組合式的切片影像,可以更細緻地診斷乳房組織,同時大大減少擠壓乳房次數。系統還可以將3D圖像以2D形式呈現,從而減少重做2D檢查以作對比的需要。 


我們更將一台超聲波檢查儀永久放置在乳腺
X線攝影設備附近,以方便立即評估乳房腫塊和乳腺X射線攝影檢測到的渾濁,從而使放射科醫生給予病人即時和全面的診斷結果。而此服務適用於常規檢查以及一站式全面乳房造影診症。

2. 超聲波掃描


通過分析非侵入性高頻聲波的回聲,去重建人體內目標器官或組織影像的技術。在成像領域中,超聲波掃描是一種相對上經濟的檢查技術,能夠以切片形式顯示受檢查部位的實時影像。其便捷、實時及無創的特點,非常適用於身體的小面積成像和動態成像。進行檢查時,超聲波探頭將被放置在受檢查部位上,探頭會抹上高含水量的特殊凝膠幫助聲波傳導。掃描過程中,受檢查者將被要求控制呼吸,以取得更準確的成像結果。如需檢查上腹部器官,在檢查前需要禁食
6小時,而在接受所有超聲波掃描後也毋須特別護理。 

本中心的超聲波掃描儀器均採用最先進的技術,檢查過程毋須使用造影劑,便能重建高質素的影像。部門更提供一系列檢查服務,包括:

  • 腹部和骨盆掃描
  • 乳房和甲狀腺等小部位成像
  • 彩色頸動脈、四肢血管超聲波
  • 肌肉骨骼及關節軟組織成像 

3. 雙能量X光吸收 


以分析兩種不同穿透力的輻射線,去評估受檢查部位的骨質密度。檢查所釋放的
X光劑量較接受一次胸透X光檢查更低,是一種相對安全及準確的檢查。 DEXA常用於量度腰椎、髖股關節及前臂等容易受骨質疏鬆影響而發生骨折的地方。